JohnHeuston1

By JohnHeuston1

Run from it or learn from it

The pic is a page from 'Predatory thinking', an iBook I've just finished by the advertising creative genius Dave Trott. It's a great read, and the biggest strengths for me are the witty anecdotes and lovely wee sayings and phrases. This is one, and it's from one of the best movies ever made, The Jungle Book. 'You can either run from it or learn from it.'

So true. We have the option of giving up and running away, literally sprinting like a Bolt and never looking back. Today was a bit like that - several times I could have Usained it (that's a phrase, right?) metaphorically and literally. Well, not literally boss, but you know what I mean. But in the same breath, or after a moment or two to take a deep one, it's on with the show. Your audience awaits, so suck it up and put on the show they've paid good money for. Give up or embrace it. In the words of yesterday's blip here, it is what it is, so we may as well find a way to love it, or at least to learn to love it.

Trott, D. 2013. 'Predatory thinking'. London: MacMillan.

Post-script: that last line is something approximating Harvard referencing for the book quoted in my first line. I remember thinking run from it or learn from it in my student days. Literally learned from it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.