horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Wheely Ready?

Quick spin round the block for a better check on the built-by-my-fair-hand wheels. A few pings (twisted spokes untwisting) and creaks (really just everything settling down). I had a sound that... sounded.... like it was a few of the spokes on the rear just eve so slightly catching the brake caliper, but that disappeared by the time I got home. Worth checking out anyway - at the very least a few of the spokes will need tightening or loosening just to get everything bang on after that little foray.

That's a job for the weekend, given I've got Monday to myself (Bank Holiday, but Mel is working), and I've the intention to see basically how far I can ride between 8am (when Mel leaves for work) and 4pm (an hour before she's back, giving me time to have a shower before we go out for the evening). In theory 120 miles is doable at my usual pace, but I'll aim for the simpler and lower ton-up. That would be ten miles more than the Bealach Mor which is two weeks on Saturday; though I'll not be able to match the total climbing around here, which will give me a good idea of just how ready I am (given I'm pretty certain the bike will be fine - the new wheels roll beautifully smoothly, the new side entry twin bottle cages mean I can keep properly hydrated, the new (whiter) tyres should arrive this week, and the new brake pads are starting to bed in properly). One thing that is striking is just how much faster this bike feels (and is) than the commuter. Each built for a job, and doing it perfectly.

The weekend after I'll keep it shorter with 40-50 miles, and then spend the 2 or 3 days before the event itself actually off the bike entirely. It's weird getting nervous about this as it's not a race, and really I know I can complete it because I'm fitter than I was 5 years ago when I last got round, and I'm on a slightly more comfortable and faster bike. I was slow last time, second last man home, and while I still don't think I can get anywhere near the top half of the field I'm aiming for a time around an hour quicker. Seems a lot, but over 91 miles it equates to around a 2 miles per hour average speed difference at the pace I'm aiming for.

I could of course have aimed for even quicker by getting myself an uber-lightweight carbon fibre bike; but the steel is comfy, and light enough, and while the CX-intended disc brakes are heavier than necessary, I like the security they'll give on some of the fast descents. That said, I think carbon fibre is high on the shopping list (maybe next year), and I think just that, plus a nice tourer (custom Mercian for my 40th in a few years?), and I'll actually be happy with the collection in the garage.

Anyway, that's all dull cycling chat for anyone who is not a cyclist (and probably for most that are). Main thing is, is everything ready? I wheely hope so....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.