Brickwork

We had a one-day holiday today and went to Winchester. We didn't realise until we were on the train that the ticket machine at Oxford station had managed to issue us with half of one ticket, the receipt only for the other, and two other receipts that were nothing to do with us. So we had a lot of explaining to do each time we were expected to show our tickets.

The trip was partly because I've been wanting to see the Antony Gormley sculpture in the cathedral crypt for quite a while. I've seen lots of pictures of it, including some here (and here), so I wasn't expecting it to have the impact it did - still, contemplative, assured.

Back to Oxford this evening to hear Neil Gaiman and Philip Pullman in conversation. Two very interesting people and some interesting points, especially about books from my childhood, but it didn't flow quite as well as I'd expected it to.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.