A Writer's Life

By Awriterslife

When my uncle trows a surprise wedding!

Every year, my uncle D. trows a BBQ in August (last year was a bit earlier in July. For some reason, we all felt that this year's invitation was a bit fishy. My laid back uncle kept telling us he would be wearing jeans and sandals. Which would have been his standard attire anyway. Oh, and we didn't even need to bring chairs, which suggested he had rented some, since we tend to be a rather big group. There was also the matter of the people invited: a rather interesting mix of us and my uncle's girlfriend's family. And friends from work. And we had to arrive at a rather precise time, earlier than usual. We all thought it was rather strange. And started to imagine what it could be.
We rather quickly settled on the most evident suspect: my uncle and his girlfriend were getting married. And guess what: we were right! the dog was wearing a white garter around her collar, there were white balloons everywhere. The bride changed at one point in her daughter's wedding dress (which I found very, very sweet, in terms of a rewriting of tradition), the groom put a flower on his shirt, and they both did wear sandals.

It was a perfect afternoon/evening! And a very, very sweet wedding, too. Happiness, my friends, is contagious!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.