Whitebaiting.....

The Whitebait season has started in the North Island and along the east coast of the South Island. The tiny bait is worth good money and in my opinion is delicious!

News travels fast when they're running and spots are chosen with much thought. There are often rows of nets along the banks of rivers and waterways. When one man moves to check his net the others in the line are watching and then one by one they all check their nets, there's a little muttering and maybe a nod or two between them, nobody gives away how much they're catching.

My brother and I used to go whitebaiting with mum and dad but in those days the nets would be carried over the shoulder, no trailers or whitebait stands back then, just a bucket and net and a bit of walking. We were lucky enough to bring home plenty, mum would make whitebait patties, a real delicacy today.

I had a muddly day yesterday and didn't get to blip but would like to thank you all for your birthday wishes to Daughter A and also for all of the stars and hearts for the wee primula, we are both delighted, thank you all so much.

I'll backblip yesterday's at some stage and hope to be back tonight to comment but I'm just having a busy few days and feeling quite tired in the evenings, my eyes are also playing up with the increase of pollen, so I'm taking it quietly on the computer.

Hope your all enjoying a great Thursday :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.