Caught in the act

We were out dropping Maddy off at my dad's today. She's heading off to Ireland for a week with Granny, Grandad and Auntie Mairi. On the way back I realised I didn't have a blip so we stopped to grab a photo. I've always liked the contrast between the row of houses and the power station here.

As I took my first couple of photos I noticed a police car driving past. As I continued to shoot Roz, who was driving, started laughing and warned me I was in trouble. The police had slowed down, turned and were coming back towards us. Sure enoughj, they stopped right behind the car and the officer in the passenger seat got out.

She was very polite and asked me what I was doing. I explained and she pointed out that it was a sensitive area what whith there being a major power station there. I'd not really thought about that at all up until that point. I offered to delete all the photos but she said I didn't have to but she would have to take my details just in case. Not a problem so we spent a few minutes going over my details then I was on my way.

I have to say the officers who stopped us were very friendly throughout and did explain that they had to do this purely because of the subject. It was a learning experience for me as, prior to today, I would never have given things like that a second thought.

The thing that did strike me was how polite and pleasant the police were about this sort of thing compared with accounts I've heard from various people including some on here regarding similar experiences involving private security forces rather than the police.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.