Trial and Error

By DawnC

Inachis io

I took the dogs back down the Buddleia path today and again there were butterflies all over it. Again also they didn't stay still for long but I think my flowery top may have helped camouflage me so that these two Peacocks let me take their picture. They are by far my favourite butterfly and I really must get myself some Buddleia.

Apparently, the Peacock is a familiar sight in gardens across the British Isles and is unmistakable, with quite spectacular eyes on the upper side of the hind wings that give this butterfly its name. These eyes must appear very threatening to predators, such as mice, that confront this butterfly head-on, with the body forming a 'beak'. Clever, eh?

Still feeling rough but trying not to give in to it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.