A Real Peach of an August Sunrise

First, thank you so much for the positive response to yesterday's central Pennsylvania farm scene. The many likes and comments and stars were very much appreciated. (And my brother, who fears cows - read more about that here - would probably be laughing himself silly, thinking of me waxing so poetic about them. So - shh, don't tell him!)

I hope you all got to see the gorgeous full moon that we had on Tuesday night. I was out watching it, and captured the moonrise: I was there as the orange moon broke free of the trees and sailed off into the heavens.

Likewise, the next morning's sunrise was a peachy-pink experience: not as bright orange as the previous night's moonrise, but perhaps just as lovely. It was damp again, but not misty, like Tuesday.

I was getting ready for work, but I was taking a little break, sitting out on the front porch with the cat, and I saw the sun starting to rise. And I did the old familiar grab-the-camera-and-run. I got some pictures of the sun at the horizon, but they seemed kind of . . . ordinary . . . to me. Disappointing.

But then I looked down at my feet, and I saw what I wanted: the grass provided some interesting shapes and textures, and it was shot full of droplets of dew. So I got down on the ground and took a few pictures from there, and was much more pleased with the outcome than what I'd started with.

There is something about late August that I like immensely. Something is different about the light, and about the quality of the air. Maybe it's the moisture that makes it different. I notice it most in the mornings; and I admit that the sight of the morning sun in late August makes me want to throw caution to the winds, give up my day job, and follow the sun!

The song to accompany this morning scene is The Beatles, I'll Follow the Sun.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.