Seriously?

By MerrilHope

Day 46: Parting Gift

It had been my intention to spend this afternoon on the beach in some kind of farewell ritual, but, although I was up early enough (7am) to sort my stuff, somehow I just never got there and ended up passing the whole day poolside chatting with others, interspersed with bouts of packing, sorting and cleaning. Anita's parents had arrived early morning, so hello to them, Nigel and Bev arrived early afternoon, so hello to them. Viv, Mark, Fin and Aaron left at 8pm, so bye bye to them, so a bit of a roller coaster of a day. Dave had brought a 3 litre box of Pinot Grigio from the UK so that helped everything along a bit as I talked with all around the pool. As the evening wears on, most of my packing is done, but there is still much that I cannot do until the morning - quick bedding wash, emptying the fridge, turning off water and electric, etc..

As mentioned before, there are two dogs who hang around here, lazing by the pool or under the trees in the garden. No real home but both are very docile, always peckish, always in need of some attention. They get both here. However, one thing that they get but do not want, is fleas. Always scratching. So, Viv, Mark and I decided that our parting gift to both dogs was to give them a dose of 'Frontline' so that they can have a few weeks flea-free. Don't know why we didn't think of it before. Anyway, both dogs were treated tonight, during the rapid consumption of a bowl of meaty leftovers. I hope these two mutts will have a more comfortable few weeks ahead. It is our parting gift.

Can't say I am looking forward to going home, but I think that Connie is. She certainly understands that today was different.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.