Grass weaving

I went on a workshop at Castle Semple visitor centre to learn how to weave with grass today. The tutor was Joanne B Karr who showed us her inspiration from her work on Angus MacPhee's work.
After a late start (wrong place, but will go back there) I arrived and we first went out to the field and collected grass and started to make rope with it outside. Its a very simple process that I'm sure is thousands of years old, but is soothing and relaxing. We also learned how to make magic rope out of piles of grass.
Then we went back inside and I learned how to make loops and started to attempt to make a bowl/ bag. Its more of a thing (its the thing that's top centre), but I'm happy with it. The other stuff in that part of the picture was made by the others, and I made the other bits of rope in the different parts.
I think I shall now be hunting down long grass leaves and rushes to make more as it has lots of uses. Also, it's a perfect start for my next college project as I've got ideas forming of how to use it. It'd also be great to do with the yarn club kids and for other projects.
A really great day and I'm so glad I went.
Joanne is returning in October to do the same classes and I wholly recommend going along.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.