A rude awakening x 2...

A rude awakening for this squab* - probably it's first experience of heavy rain as it perched looking very bedraggled on the garden gate. (Snapped from the car window!)

An even worse awakening for me.. I reached into the understairs cupboard in the half dark for the umbrella in preparation for the morning dog walk, as I picked it up (The umbrella, not the dog) something furry wriggled in my hand. I screamed, dropped the umbrella and a Glis Glis fell to the floor. It wriggled a bit (the Glis Glis, not the umbrella) I picked it up and put it on the table.

It was not a well Glis Glis. By the time I'd dealt with it, it was not even an ill Glis Glis.

Glis Glis (Aka Edible Dormouse)
By the way, this one will definitely not be contributing to my 'Eat well for £20 a week' challenge!

* Squab - a young pigeon or dove - in olden times bred for the table.
From which the word squabble is derived. As my mum is prone to say "Little birds in their nest shouldn't squabble"

By the way, this one will definitely not be contributing to my 'Eat well for £20 a week' challenge!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.