Muttley's Musings

By RuralDave

Gaping Gill

Worth a look LARGE
Today was a big adventure, I visited Gaping Gill in the Yorkshire Dales with my Dad. Gaping Gill is a huge under ground cavern which is large enough to fit St Paul's Cathedral inside. Access to the pot hole for the general public is on two weeks a year where pot holing clubs erect a winch and bosun's chair. The winch drops you 340 feet through a waterfall into the cavern. It was really good in the cavern, there was subdued lighting and a short guided tour by a caver who explained a bit about the geology and where the water goes etc. I then had a chance to explore and try taking some photos. It was hard getting the camera to focus in the dark and it was a bit of a battle to keep water droplets off the lens, but I think I managed it.

Once I came out we had a picnic lunch and then walked back to Clapham where we treated ourselves to a drink and a cake, which were very nice.

On the way home we stopped in Wetherby for some Fish and Chips and they were beautiful, so all in all a great day out.

You can see some more of my pictures in the cavern here including when the lights went out and we just had the natural light illuminating the water fall in the cavern.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.