Earthball

The fungi are appearing all over at the moment. In my usual hunting grounds the earthballs (Scleroderma) have appeared in large numbers in the usual places.

I left it a bit late to go out tonight and with the shortening days it was getting a bit dark in the woods. I am always a bit conscious of what any passers by must think, I get a few funny looks when I am crouching in the undergrowth, not helped when the flash is going off!

This earthball had split, ready to spread it's spores, I was just giving it a helping hand and adding my fingers for scale.

Another nice find tonight was this fibrecap which you can see here if you have got the time.

Almost forgot to mention, I just started 2 weeks holiday today, I was going to be off for a week but I had to add another week, told to use it or lose it! YAY.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.