Our Journey is a process

By journeysprocess

Uninspiring and unfinished

Today has been a bit of a downer. It started out as a wonderful morning with clear skies and a great walk. Then, the wind kicked up and before long the valley is full of smoke again - so bad that we can't see more that 1/4 mile. While it is just a drag for us, I can't even imagine how people who live near the areas that are burning must feel.

When I was in college, long before forest fire management schools, etc., during the summer I worked for the Forest Service. I worked predominantly on resource management issues. But we all had to go through a very cursory forest fire training. This one summer, there was a small fire that started about 30 miles away from where I was based. But it began to spread very quickly. They called all of us to help fight the fire. That was the most dangerous and difficult work that I have ever done - and I had the easy task of cutting down trees for firebreaks and operating the front end loader. So, I have HUGE respect for fire fighters and always pray for them as they work.

So back to the blip. This is an unfinished watercolor that I have been working on. I still have to details to add and a background to put in. For those of you who know me, yes it is another lily picture. This will titled "Lilies #4". But, in view of the fact that I don't want to go outside, and I have already blipped pictures of the pups lately, I decided that this had to be good enough.

I hope that you all have a great day/evening and are looking forward to the weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.