Paul

It's been a really up and down day. The major conflict which has been hanging over me all week has been resolved. But as soon as that was sorted another issue arose which got my stress levels rocketing again.

I've taken some time out this evening, meeting up with a local runner I've actually got to know through blip. We'd previously only met for a few seconds on a train. As we ran and talked it was as if we were old friends already. Funny that - and rather wonderful too.

We went for a pint at the Cow and Calf and bumped into an actual old friend I've not really seen in over twenty years. We were both active in the Green Party when I first moved to Ilkley. It was lovely to catch up - once I'd got over the embarrassment of not being able to remember his name!

I took a few shots on the moor during our run but again I'm more inclined to post this portrait which I took at lunchtime. Paul was a lovely fellow and he actually engaged me as I was walking by. Although there is a strong sense of community in Shipley he was saying that it is nothing like as strong as it used to be when he was young. Back then everybody knew everybody and supported each other far more than happens now. I think a lot of that may have been due to the fact that everyone here worked together in the big mills. It was actually hard to avoid one other. It was a very much smaller world back then. He said that the big treat for his family each year was a trip to Bradford!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.