EastTexasAngles

By EastTexasAngles

Stormy Sunset in East Texas

This evening I was driving around looking for a blip and just at sunset a dark gray cloud rolled in. The juxtaposition of the storm cloud and the setting sun was dramatic and breath-taking. One of my other photos was even more dramatic but it was taken near a highway and there were too many lamp posts, telephone poles and wires and several cars, all of which ruined the effect and I wasn't skilled enough to remove them.

Really, this one is just as good. It was taken just beyond our farm but still part of what my great-great-grandfather owned in the 1860's. It was said that he could ride into town from Press (actually, the "old home place" is a couple of miles further from town than we are) and tie up his horse on the town square without ever leaving his own property. He was a prominent citizen, but not as well-known as many others in that era. He was kind of secretive and after searching for more than 45 years, I haven't succeeded in finding his parents. He did own property on the town square. Some of it was inherited by my great-grandfather and his brother and the buildings are still standing. They are no longer in the family but my great-grandfather's name is on a plaque by the door (along with his brother's).

Back to the sunset -- it is such a universal phenomenon -- I never gave much thought to it before -- but my great-great grandfather must have watched many sunsets like this one in his day -- but with fewer (no) cars or telephone poles!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.