THE WASP THAT CAME

in our garden, on the canada-golden-rod, stayed long enough for a picture and off she went. Not a wasp I have often seen! She is called potter wasp (Eumenes coarctatus.
That happened in the morning.
In the afternoon I wanted to take a walk and I went to my favoured jungle along the Weser. A nice walk, not too far, not too hot, just a lovely summer walk and interesting because of the wild flowers and the wild insects too.
On my return I suddenly saw on the stone steps a Natrix natrix, a grass snake. Not a dangerous one at all.
Not knowing then what kind of snake I saw, I stood and watched how she hissed and looked at me with her snaky eyes.
I did take pictures, of course, but did not dare to come closer. I phoned Piet Hein, and he reluctantly said he would come. In the meantime I stepped back and waited. After a while the snake slipped in the grass, under the trees.
A woman came up the steps and I told her of the snake. She lives some streets lower, has a big garden and told me that she often saw snakes like these in her garden, for instance when she turned the compost pile.
I walked home and could show Piet Hein later the pictures of the snake.

My haiku:

The snake was frightened
I was curious and frightened
Who would run away?

And the proverb:

Zij/hij wil de soep heet hebben, als ze koud- en koud, als ze heet is.

Translation: She/he wants the soup hot, when it is cold- en cold as the soup is hot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.