Life through the lens...

By ValC

The menu

Emergency blip!
( Just looked at last years blip! My how they have all grown, and G now a young man with all those great GCSE results!)

This is a photo of a menu I have framed and have up in the kitchen.

It dates from the 1980's when we visited Alsace.
The restaurant is the Auberge de L'Ill , in a village called Illhausern.
Three star Michelin!
We went at lunch time, but they were full!
However I noticed on the menu , which was all in French that one of the main courses, was being served with "Yorkshire Pudding" !
Le tournedos a la moelle et la petite chatreuse de queue de boeuf, Yorkshire Pudding.
Have a look at the photo LARGE.
When I explained that we were from Yorkshire, they gave me a menu.
MrC was very pleased that they were full, as it would have been about £37.00 each without wine, which was a lot of money in those days.

It is the most beautiful setting of any restaurant I have seen. see here
This photo on my blipfolio was taken in June this year.
We were staying near by and just wanted another look!
The lunch menu is now 168 euros! (Not including wine)
Unless we win the lottery I'm afraid we won't be going!

The bank holiday weekend starts tomorrow.
Hope you all have a good time!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.