Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Origami

Not a technically great shot, but I like the movement of it - reminded me or origami. Also, these are not birds that we typically see here other than during the migrations. These are Greater Yellowlegs a shore bird that is common enough at the shore, but not this far inland.

Met up with my bird/butterfly group today at Walkill River NWR, which straddles New Jersey and New York states and encompasses about 5,100 acres. Part of the refuge is wetlands and it attracts literally hundreds of thousands of migratory water and shore birds. There were hundreds of birds in the wetlands at the Refuge today - plovers, both Yellowlegs, egrets, herons (great blue and little green) and several other smaller shorebirds. So, today's shot was kind of an easy choice for me - it meets my personal criteria of capturing a little moment, something to remember the day by.

We also saw not one but TWO Leopard Frogs - not a common frog here. I managed to get a shot of one of them with it's moth open while it was snatching something up. Pretty cool! Also saw a new (for me) type of shield bug and some cool looking soldier beetles. Didn't take take the macro lens with me today, just Big Daddy and the little Coolpix. I posted six shots on Fkickr, starting HERE if you'd care to have a look.

And people, it's the weekend!

xxoo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.