kevinmcc

By kevinmcc

Childhood toys from years ago

I knew mom still had some of these laying around for when the grand kids come to visit. She told me I could take some home if I wanted, which I did. At one time, my brothers and I probably owned more than a hundred of these.

These are "Matchbox" die cast model vehicles. They were produced by by the Lesney Company, based in the UK, and were quite popular when I was growing up.

I'm not sure if the Greyhound bus is a Matchbox product, but I like it anyway, and it ended up in the basement workshop for an epoxy repair job to secure the two halves together. As you can see, these little models took a lot of abuse over the years.

These days, many of the original Matchbox models are quite collectable.

I brought them home, mostly to photograph.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.