Pleach

By Pleach

Not a spider

Look at my very long legs! I might look like a spider with my eight legs, but I’m not. Nor am I that daddy long legs cranefly nuisance with their leatherjacket grubs. No, I am a harvestman and you can usually see me sometimes on a wall around harvest time , but I generally like to come out at night. There I was peacefully having a rest upon a pillowcase blowing around on the washing line when someone disturbed me because she liked my long legs which must be well over 15 cms long. Anxiously I spread my seven jointed legs so that they weren’t all in a straight line and if she’d tried to lift me up I might have shed a leg just as a lizard can shed its tail. My second pair of legs are longest and act like sort of antennae sensors but I sensed that she only wanted to take my photo. She shook me off the pillowcase but I didn’t mind because there was nothing to eat there and I scurried away to help to keep her garden free from pests.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.