Mikey88

By Mikey88

The Doctors

There were a lot of pictures which I could have blipped today.

We started by going down to the bay. The light was the light you only get on the coast in the early morning and it really enhanced the spectacular new buildings around the old docks. We eventually found our way to the Doctor Who Experience, which we had ummed and ahhed about visiting, but decided to give it a go, if there was no queue.

Fortunately there wasn't a queue and we went in. If you're a Doctor Who fan, this is a MUST. I won't spoil it by telling you too much about it, but it was brilliantly done and the exhibition upstairs was really interesting. I chose to blip all the various Doctors' costumes, with my wife and son reading the information boards. I am of an age where I can remember the very first episode. We were having baked potato and sausage for tea and were allowed to eat it in front of the television as a special treat. As a result, that meal still has a special feel to it during the Autumn and Winter months. My favourite Doctor is still William Hartnell.

If you are anywhere near Cardiff, I would highly recommend a visit.

After that, we went for lunch in the City Centre and then went round the castle. The Marquis of Butte certainly left his mark!

Finally, we went to the coast - drove out to Llantwit Major and sat on the beach for a while. There was some stunning cliffs - not particularly high, but really interesting geology. And again, the light was fantastic.

We finished off with a meal in Iltud's Restaurant in Llantwit Major itself. Fantastic meal - some of the best steak and ale pie I've ever had. Again, well worth a visit if you are in the area.

All in all, an extremely enjoyable day,

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.