One click at a time

By KeithKnight

August Challenge - Fruit (Raspberry Pi)

Day 23 of DDW's August daily challenge - Fruit

I do eat a reasonable amount of fruit - I have a banana with my breakfast, and on work days my salad will always include at least one tomato (yes, it is a fruit, just don't put one in a fruit salad). However, Friday is not the day to blip such things - the cupboard is pretty bare, ready to be re-stocked on Saturday for the week ahead.

Instead, you get a whole Raspberry Pi(e). It's a small, cheap computer designed for learning programming. I bought one recently to brush up my programming (lack of) skills, and also with a real purpose. I have a netbook, which is getting rather old now, but it does fit in my camera bag that is just the right size for Easyjet's hand baggage rules. You can't get netbooks any more, just Chromebooks or Ultrabooks. Neither is really a suitable replacement for the netbook - the netbook has a decent sized hard drive for downloading photos on to, the others have small solid state drives, smaller than my memory card collection, and the ultrabooks that will fit in the camera bag are a mere £900 instead of sub £300.

The project - a small application to download the cards, renaming and sorting the files automatically, adding in copyright and contact etc. data and saving it on an external disk (or 2 for backup), which is what the application that I use in Windows does at the moment. It'll keep me busy in the long winter nights :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.