Reluctant festival goer

Last Saturday evening, I agreed by twitter DM, to form part of the 'People's Manifesto Roadtest', one of the culminating events of the Cabaret of Dangerous Ideas which has been running every day at 2pm in the Spiegeltent on George Street.

The People's Manifesto, a project by Mark Thomas, seemed a pretty good idea, with concrete proposals like reinstating St. Monday's - the tradition of taking Monday off, if Sunday has been a bit heavy....

Of course, like many of these things, it's actually a jokey entree to serious debate on serious issues, like the disconnect between voters and politicians, the problem of land reform and excessively costly 'shelter' and housing in the UK, etc. As a result, I developed views on things which I didn't think I'd normally express publicly.

It was quite fun.

Someone wanted a group photo at the end, so I had one taken on my camera as well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.