Scarletina

So, today was the day of the foray that Roger and I were leading. Not unexpectedly, we didn't have many takers given that the rain was torrential first thing - one to be precise. By the time the 3 of us got underway, it had become a drizzle and not long after, the rain stopped completely and it turned into a pleasant day. I didn't take my SLR as when leading a foray there is never time to be composing photos, but I did take my compact to take some record shots and of course, a blip. We found some fantastic fungi, some beautiful, some rare. We saw Chanterelles and Horse Mushrooms, Blushers, Millers and Charcoal Burners, Jelly Ears and Deceivers. We saw my favourite one as well - the Orange Grisette, and I was tempted to blip it, but I might go back with my SLR and see if I can get a shot to really do it justice.
We saw no fewer than 5 types of Bolete. Boletes are large mushroom-shaped fungi but instead of gills, they have sponge-like pores on the underside. Probably the best known is the Penny Bun (!), Cep or Porcini - Boletus edulis. I was once nearly mugged by some French holidaymakers in the Peak District when I had a basket of these. The one in the photo is fruiting prolifically at the moment. Its Sunday name is Boletus luridiformis, the common name being Scarletina Bolete

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.