St Andrews Castle

The backdrop to the shot I was forced to take of a stranger to my "stranger" shot for the blip project. For those of you who don't know about it, you are passed a disposable camera, none of your fancy digital stuff, and you have to find a stranger and take just one shot....

Thank god I had trisha with me today. That woman knows no fear when it comes to approaching strangers and getting them to pose...more of that later.

We had an eventful start to our bimble round St Andrews when Breagha got stung by a wasp. Poor wee thing. Fortunately she rallied and we were able to carry on. Trisha kept asking me...what kind of person do you want to photograph? I hadn't a clue! I was sooooo out my comfort zone I just wanted it over and to go back to flowers and landscapes. We headed down to the harbour. Oscar took exception to a Dalmatian... Tension rising...we headed to the harbour wall and after some shilly shallying on my part, Trisha returned with my chosen prey subject.

So, my stranger was Nadine Shaw. A young lady originally from Belfast but now living and working in Edinburgh. She and her partner were up in Fife for the day just enjoying St Andrews. She was happy to pose and was also happy taking photos herself! I used the castle at St. Andrews as the backdrop did I mention that?

With the shot in the bag I handed the camera over to Trisha for its onward journey. At that point Trisha wasn't going to do her shot today so we bimbled on. We stopped by St Salvators and took in a wedding with classic cars and a lovely female piper. Then headed off to find a coffee and some cake and a place to natter.

And then...trisha spotted the cowboy! What a character! He was in the full rig out and more than happy to oblige. So while I held the dogs, off Trisha trotted to take her shot and be serenaded AND kissed in the middle of the street at the West Port!

After all that excitement coffee and scones/muffins were very necessary!

A good day out!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.