Cowboy Serenade

Breagha and I had a wee journey into Fife today, St Andrews, to meet up with Lynn She brought the very handsome Oscar (one of her dogs) with her and the four of us toddled into town, on a mission! She had in her possession Camera 13 of the Ilford bundle that were sent out by Blip, to take a photograph of a stranger....

On our way to the harbour, Breagha sidestepped into me almost tripping me up and looking down I saw that she was holding up her paw and after examining underneath saw that she had been stung by a bee on one of pads - Ouch! I pulled it out but she was quite distressed as it must have been stinging. We sat at a cafe for her to rest it, as she refused to walk and the owners very kindly brought out a dish of warm salted water to help soothe the pain. Half an hour later she was as right as rain and desperate to get down to the sea:-)

So, the mission to photograph a stranger was on, and a potential candidate was walking down the hill and she very kindly obliged and then after the pose Lynn passed it on to me:-)

We headed back into town and stopped to watch a couple of weddings. Breagha decided that the lady piper needed an accompaniment so she started howling along much to the amusement of the people waiting to see the bride!! Funny wee dog she is - cute though!

As we walked along the main street, this Cowboy came out of the Fruit and Veg shop just as we were walking past. We made eye contact and started talking. I got to thinking as we were chatting that he just had to be the subject of my 1 shot with the little Ilford! I asked him if he was from St Andrews and he said that he lived just outside and that he was a Country/Folk and a little rock type music singer and he played a Gibson SG 400 (seems like it's a good guitar but lost on us!). So I asked him if I could take his picture and explained what it was all about and there was no hesitation, he jumped at the chance and said that he wanted to stand in the road in front of the arch as it's part of the really old St Andrews! Trouble with that was that there was traffic coming! He said that after I took his picture he would serenade me with a song, so he walked up, put his hand on my shoulder and started singing Don Williams song, I Recall A Gypsy Woman - when he got to the part about the silver spangles in her eyes he leaned over and kissed my cheek:-) Cars were having to manoeuvre themselves round us so I decided one verse and chorus was enough and we moved to this bench where I found out a bit more about him and asked to take a picture with my proper camera! So he has been all round the world and used to be a MD of a major silk exporter, but now his life is all about music. I got his card and his name and address - his name is Iain McCartney!

After all that Lynn and I had to have a sit down with a coffee and scone (7 out of 10 - not enough butter and just enough jam).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.