Brotographer

By Brotographer

Francais

I talk about myself here, more to myself than anyone else. My thoughts are pretty sporadic and most certainly not coherent. Maybe you relate, maybe you don't.

The beginning when I arrive to Les Glenans is always busy, so I never get any brilliant photos. However, this one is particularly important, even if its just a french flag hanging from one of the boats. Truth is, down here in Marseillan when I'm sailing is the time of the year I feel most french, true to my heritage. It's easy enough to understand, I sink into the french culture and ambiance I'm supposed to belong to, and my international upbringing doesn't set me apart. And thank god for it. Harsh as it sounds, I'm sick of the UK. You'd think I'd relate to British culture a lot more after three years living there. But I relate much more to the European mainland atmosphere (France, Spain and such), it feels so much more natural for me.
At the same time, I'm still not a french kid in the sense that I'm too disengaged from the country to be considered a true national. Look at me, I'm writing these blip entries in English... Thus, third culture kid in the end, since I can't belong to any country anywhere near 100%. Something I'm still having a hard time dealing with sometimes and always will, but there are so many others in the same boat. That results in support and acknowledgement, the international community is amazing to feel part of.
Anyways, drifting from the subject of being back at Les Glenans, my 10th time or so. There's tons of italians here and a couple other nationalities, but either way nothing would stop me from sinking in easily at Les Glenans, the sailing concept (the word is more fitting than organization) which has such a unique family vibe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.