An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

Blazing Saddles!

Motorcycle saddles in this case, belonging the Royal Signals Display Team, at Salisbury's "Summer Spectacular".

A big day, which ran from 2 - 10pm, with hundreds of photos for the organisers, though I didn't get there til five. Everything from two music stages, an aborted three balloon launch/flight (too windy) and a £10,000 worth of firework finale and quite frankly, a lot of good photos to choose from, three of which were on my shortlist to blip.

In the end, after much needed food and extra clothing once home (weather was quite cold, threatening to rain and that nagging wind) then the download taking many minutes, I settled for this taken within a few minutes of getting there.

Yes, he's headless, I was waving my Sigma 70-200mm f2.8 (only took that and Nikkor 16-85mm) between onlooker's heads as it was packed around the arena and they only jumped through the fire twice, giving me almost no time to work out what I was doing or what I was looking at!

Yes, it's an unashamedly a bloke's picture but a dramatic one and looking in LARGE essential, I'd say.

Lots of lots of editing to do now over the next few days to get these to the nice people at Salisbury City Council, who organised the whole thing. 8,000 (estimated) people attended and you can see that this was a quite a biggy, by Salisbury's standards.

Thoroughly worn out now, holding that 1.5kg 70-200mm lens to my eye for hours has made my arms and hands feel like concrete and my feet hurt after being on them (& walking back home) all that time. Trust and hope that you all have a peaceful but productive Sunday!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.