Simac

By Simac

Birdwatching

I went birdwatching today, specifically to see a Night Heron. Despite seeing 46 species I dipped on the Heron. There was a local astronomical society there too with scopes set up to view the Sun. Of course it was mostly cloudy although I did manage to see the Sun visually in Hydrogen alpha. It was amazing, with prominences and filaments all normally unseen, in clear view! I managed to snatch a photograph through the eyepiece on my iPod and intended to use this as my blip. When I got home the Sun was shining in a blue sky so I took a sequence of shots. When I viewed them I had this! I have tried to get a photo of a plane crossing the Sun's surface all year, wasting many hours in attempting to get the capture. This was pure luck!
So, dipped on the Heron but scored big time with the plane - Sun shot!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.