EverydayAdventure

By emma818

Our Magnificent Ascent of Mt. Washington....

...or not. After climbing Katahdin last weekend, I had been pining for my favorite mountains: the Presidential Range of the White Mountains in New Hampshire. The most famous of "the Pressies" is Mt. Washington, the highest mountain in the northeast. I had tried to gather a group to climb Washington with me this Saturday as a sequel to our summit of Katahdin, the highest mountain in Maine, but only managed to convince my friend Liz to come.

After arriving to my family's house in Western Maine, an hour east of Pinkham Notch and Mt. Washington at 1am, Liz and I woke up at 7:15 and took a poll as to whether or not to go:

Emma's Brain: LET'S GO!
Emma's Body: ...meh...
Liz's Brain: ...meh...
Liz's Body: ...are you kidding me?

We ended up spending the day swimming, lounging, and kayaking in Kezar Lake and hanging out with my family and some family friends who were up there as well. Their 10-year-old daughter and I had a great time swamping the kayaks and floating around in them full of water. As we had one of the kayaks upside-down on the dock to drain, the ripples caught my eye, and this blip was formed.

I miss Washington and the Presidentials a lot, but I know I'll back many, many times.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.