megssw17

By megssw17

Familiar haunts

As I mentioned before, I visited Cephalonia as a teenager.

We stayed in a dusty old resort called Lassi, where there nothing much on the main strip and the beach was pretty desolate even in August. It was outrageously pretty and my mother always harped on about how much she'd loved it there.

Dad liked the taverna on the beach that served the beer ;-) (the tiffin tent, as he affectionately called it)

So imagine my disappointment when I returned to a slight gaudy strip with a beach so crowded with sunbeds, umbrellas, and a loud beach bar. Not what I remember at all.

We headed into the capital later - it still has the same feel and the square was definitely still the place to be seen just as it was all the years ago. I noticed a few more chi chi shops - not that I was allowed any shopping time!!

We had a lovely couple of hours down by the harbour, watching the boats, enviously eyeing up the huge gin palaces that come to moor for the night ...

One day in the future, Id love to island hop with the kids - start to give them a real sense of adventure ...!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.