BEWARE! The Thai salad.

This a.m. I said, in a well-known social media site...
"If chilies burn yer gob on the way in, and cauterise the old rectal sphincter on the way out, WHAT mischief do they get up to in betwixt??"

We, recently, saw Rick Stein on telly, warning us that everything/most things Thai are, shall we say, a bit on the spicy side.  Some time ago the four of us (Gaffer, Clicky, "The Man" {alias Ooer bwoy} and yours truly) decided we'd have a meal at each birthday.

With Clicky in Jan, Herself in May, me in Aug and t'other fellah in Nov they're fairly well spread.
This was my turn and Birthday boy/girl concerned gets to pick location. As none of us had Thai-ed before I thought we'd give it a whirl.
Gaffer had green-lipped mussels in a sauce, with a dip sauce beside. The sauce was nice, but the dip was BLOODIHOT!
Rick had mentioned a Green mango salad and showed us one being made using, amongst other things, small fish a bit like Whitebait, but crispy.
Thinks, "After the squid, I'll give that a try".
1. I think they had tamed it for the western palate inasmuch as there were no fish, other than prawns and they hadn't any mango other than ripe, so it bore little resemblance to Rick Stein's, except that my opening sentence still holds good.

I'd love to see how they cut the flowers out of carrots, though I suppose I oughtn't to be surprised, having seen a carved melon in their window one day as we were passing.
* ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ *
This was the day I inhaled a complete Jumbo peanut. Retreated to toilet so as not to disturb folk retching, trying to dislodge it.
Life returned to what passes for normal - UNTIL - I awoke at "piddle o'clock (About 02:00-03:00 sometime), set off downstairs, got 1/2 way and COUGHED. "That feels funny." Emptied my mouth and found  guess what?
A ginormous JUMBO peanut in the palm of my hand.
:¬O

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.