Pleach

By Pleach

Three bees

Just now the lavender is covered with dozens of bees of various types and the little boy from next door rushed in to tell his mother that we have different bees in our garden and not only one like they have. There seem to be four kinds and I was especially interested in one very large docile bee that was there last night and still there this morning. It has a black body without the usual yellow markings and a red tail and was quietly moving from stalk to stalk and my research suggests it’s a red tailed bumblebee. It is not common in our garden so that was going to be my blip as I managed to get a good one. But then I decided that I would try to get a selection of bees which is not easy as they move so quickly. This then shows the blur of a red tailed at the bottom with the very common buff tailed bumblebee (or is it a white tailed) and a carder bumblebee. I was amazed to find that there are so many kinds of bees in Uk and how colours can vary slightly in different regions but think I am right in the identification of these but someone may correct me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.