The last large skipper?

On Friday night I was woken by a series of cracking thunderstorms and the heavy rain continued for much of Saturday. It eased for a while in the afternoon, so Pete and I took Rosie to Thorpe Meadows. It started spitting with rain as we arrived, but as it was otherwise warm we decided to continue, despite not having any coats. This was a mistake....by the time we were heading back the rain had almost become torrential and we both got soaked through to the skin. Suddenly I didn't feel very warm at all!

After a grey and damp start, today has been much sunnier, though I've spent most of it report writing, washing and tackling some of the prolific weeds which were threatening to take over the back garden. Pete and I had an evening walk to Southey Wood where I came across this rather lonely large skipper feeding on the knapweed. Their season usually ends in mid-August, so this one may well be the last I see this year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.