The fool on the hill

By mooncoin

Analogue

Whilst up at my mums today and searching for my dad's old Eumig standard 8 projector (so I can copy all the old family movies onto digital) I came across this Telefunken Magnetophon 75 - what a great name - that my parents used to record us as kids. It still works though I managed to dislodge one of the, now slack with age, drive belts so I've brought it home to fiddle with.
It still has the original information pamphlet inside so I know that my dad payed about 49 Gns for it around 1963. An expensive bit of kit then (when the average weekly wage was - I dunno - probably less than 20 quid?) but it's lasted well. At 1800' a reel there is literaly miles of tape to listen to - much of it recording of radio programmes - an early form of iPlayer I suppose.
Before I jiggered it I heard myself as a 5 or 6 year old reading Oranges and Lemons to my mum. I was pretty cute.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.