South Coast Scribblings

By SueSouth

Surveying

Hubby has done a lot of chopping back of bushes today - both in the garden and along the back hedge in the field. You can see it all piled up on the lawn ready to be taken to the dump tomorrow (or at least some of it...) I asked why he was bothering to cut undergrowth back along the edge of the field and he replied,"To get to the blackberries!" and he had already collected nearly a bowlful. He had helpfully cleared most of the nettles away, so I went and got another bowl and joined in! When I think of how we used to drive miles to go and collect blackberries and now they're outside our back gate!! They're now having a good soak and it's been interesting collecting the little beetles and wiggly things from the water (I think I'll keep quiet about this as it might put the others off....;-))

Lovely, sunny and warm this afternoon after a cool indifferent morning. We're having some scones for tea (not home-made as I'm too tired after doing piles of ironing this morning, but Tesco ones from the freezer!) Hope everyone is having a good Bank Holiday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.