WorldLens

By worldlens

Food Art

Fluttering to the edge of my glass, these butterflies looked stunning against my coconut smoothie. They are made completely out of a slice of carrot, folded gently so that they look like they could flutter to another glass at any moment.

After thoroughly investigating my butterfly, I took a bite.

"Julia! What are you doing?!" My Thai friend shouted across the table.

"Eating my butterfly." I said, confused at her response. "It's a carrot. You're supposed to eat it, right?"

"But you're not supposed to eat these carrots. They take them from glass to glass, just rinsing and reusing all day."

"Really?"

"Yes, really."

At this moment, I had two options. I could express the gross thoughts that were going through my mind about how many people had done the same thing as I did, touching the butterfly and then placed it with other discarded food on the table. OR I could just keep eating. It tasted fresh enough.

I chose the second option and popped the second butterfly in my mouth. Crunch crunch. That was that.

"Now they will get the opportunity to practice making new butterflies." I concluded.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.