Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

Finally - shingles for the Dolores station

I decided to not use the shingles that came with the kit. Nothing wrong with them however. Once you paint them they apply just fine. The problem is that they would model the station on the day it was built (late 1800's), not 1950 when the roof was pretty beat up. And - I wanted to try a different product. I used Wild West Models (http://www.wildwestmodels.com/Shake-Shingles.html) printed S scale shingles. They are printed in several colors on scale thickness paper to match real shingles pretty close, and laser cut. This produces a really nice effect when installed on the roof, one row at a time. Easy as pie with Eileen's glue. Actually very relaxing.

I have finished the freight house part of the station other than the ridge shingles and started on the main station. The kit builder (Banta Model Works) did something very nice. He laser cut guide lines into the roof panels to follow with the shingles. This keeps them straight. He also included a cutting jig for the station shingles at the valley junction with the adjacent roof. This provided an exact cut and the result will be way better. Once all the roof is on, and the chimney is in place, I can finish the ridge shingles. Then I can trim off the excess at the edges for a nice finished look. I will slightly weather some shingles, bend some to look more weather beaten, etc. We are getting close.

I have already got the station base in place on the layout. And stained the scale 2 x 12's that will cover it. That is next after the shingles. Then some final touches - a couple of hanging signs on the eave in front of the station, and a train order devise which would have told the passing train to stop.

Finally, I have had two electrical problems. I had a turnout motor that throws a critical switch go bad. First one ever. Replacing it was a real pain - working under the table on my back but with the help of my wife got it done. Plus I had a mysterious short gremlin. Both are fixed now. Very embarrassing but normal for showing train layouts - a neighbor brought their grandkids over to see it run and - it did not run thanks to the gremlin. As exciting for them as watching paint dry. But it is fixed and ready to go.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.