Scribbler

By scribbler

Molting

Hermit crab terrarium at Southwest Community Center. (SOOC)

These shells appear empty. Nobody home.
But the warming light is on, and there is water and food in the terrarium.
When hermit crabs molt, they bury themselves!
Maybe they are underground, growing, preparing for a new stage of life. I hope so.

Something in this image resonates with how I'm feeling these days.

In my early days of journaling, I used to read my journal every January and July. Once, I read what I'd written over the past half year in dismay that nothing was changing, every effort had failed, there was nothing but fog when I peered into the future. It was all there in my journal. Six months later my life was full of new possibilities, new energy. The seeds that had been planted in that dark time were leafing into the light. It was all there in my journal! I read through the previous year's writing in amazement, seeing the indications of hope that had been present all along, though I had been unable to recognize them.

That's how it is with hope. At least I hope so!

HOPE: DDW August 26 challenge

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.