MadBriter

By MadBriter

Results of Tandem Bike Crash 11 months later

Rosie's Blip today about tandem riding emboldened me to write a bit about my wife Aven's and my first attempts to convert from a traditional, upright tandem to a recumbent one. I'll try and post a picture of the recumbent one (AKA The Beast) tomorrow.

We were on our 2nd or 3rd ride on the new tandem last September and about 12 miles from home had stopped prior to crossing a road while on a bike path. This new bike weighs 60 lbs. and learning how to get a recumbent in motion is a major event. While trying to start back up I (the captain) lost control and over we went.

The 'bear-trap' pedal raked the inside of my right calf and you can see in the photo that I still have remains of the wound still visible 11 months later. And, it is still a bit tender but that may be due to 75-year old flesh.

Brad M (Mad_Briter)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.