A journey through Zogland

By Zog

Rosehips

I saw these this morning when I was getting in to my car. It must have been the red/green contrast that attracted me. Also the contrast between the serrated edges of the leaves and the smooth red fruit.

My son used to call them "itchy bombs" when he was wee because they are filled with rough little seeds and if you got hit by one it made you itchy. I wonder if he still remembers that, now that he's living in Engerland.

Me, I remember collecting them in the autumn because you could get "loads of money" for them from the government when they were used for making rosehip syrup which allegedly was full of vitamin C. We never collected enough to get any money though. Another great money-making idea that bit the dust.

365/238

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.