horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Naantastic Centurion

It's been a while since I've ridden 100 miles in a day. About 5-6 years. And even then I've only done it a couple of times, but hey, I had today to myself given we got the English Bank Holiday and Mel was at work. She commented that I was mad getting up at the same time as her and not having a lie in, and I could have done that and then even wandered into town to catch the embers of the Fringe; or gone wildlife hunting. But instead I headed up Redstone Rigg, started to flag about 70 miles in, then got a second wind and complete a 22 mile loop around town to make the distance up for the century (bizarrely deciding to ride over DrumBrae at the 91 mile mark).

But it has made me feel a 'little' better prepared for the Bealach Mor sportive in a couple of week (which is 12 miles shorter, but has more climbing). And gave me that wee feeling of 'achievement' that brings with it a bit of a glow.

Then in the evening it was off out to the Vintage in Leith, where there was a Curry and Quiz night. We like the Vintage anyway, and we've quizzed with Iain and Mary plenty, so the entry fee including a couple of courses of curry, the quiz hosted by Hardeep Singh Kohli, and there was a great night in the offing. And then we went and won (by half a point), and the bar tab paid for was the prize, which was a bit of a result.

Cracking day. Long day. And surprisingly my legs haven't seized up. It'll be interesting to see what the commute is like tomorrow morning...

Oh, and I saved a Baby Shrew on the ride today, about 5 miles out from lunch at North Berwick, and took a wee 'mile adding' detour to see the Vulcan Bomber at the Museum of Flight.

p.s. I can't take the credit for the 'Naantastic' line - that was the name of one of the team, Naantastic Four...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.