But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Catweazle.

The conveyancer phoned today to ask if the buyers for The Old Lady's house could move in on Monday week; a bit taken aback I said "Yes" and immediately thought I should have consulted Sis first. However, we agreed that it was probably for the best that we complete the transaction as soon as possible, though it is rather chastening.
I usually go out cycling on a Wednesday, in Bristle there's an evening club run that can be rather challenging but, I decided that there was too much to be done before the hand-over. The three ladies in my life all said I should go out and, in the face of such pressure I succumbed.
On the way to the start I came across this graffito, this doesn't look new and I've been past here regularly in recent years without noticing it. It's near Saint Werburg's City Farm at the end of a tunnel that reeks of spray paint, I regularly see artists working there late at night.

I was attracted to Catweazle for several reasons, a sartorially challenged (wearing robes of sackcloth) eleventh century wizard who had accidentally time travelled to the 1970s to become the subject of a children's tv comedy. He was naive, continually bemused by modern technologies such as "elec-trickery" (mistaking them for powerful magic) and trying to find his way back to the correct era with his familiar, a toad named Touchwood. There was also a "look-a-like" on the British wrestling scene who milked the similarity for all it was worth.
During my working life, Catweazle was one of the nicknames that I collected, presumably due to some superficial resemblance; odd really, as another one was Austin Powers.

The appearance of a trike in this picture is purely co-incidental.

Post-script: I've just discovered that the actor, Geoffery Bayldon, who played the wizard achieved greater fame as Crowman in Worzel Gummage, and for turning down the role of Doctor Who - twice. He will be ninety in January.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.