mileage

Last night, in bed, Leah and I made a pact about working out. We drew up a calendar on Word and everything. It goes well with the whole back-to-school thing, I think. Today, after a frightening personal weigh-in, was Day One: 45 minutes on the treadmill, run-walk combination, just under 3 miles. Easing myself back in. But, it felt good. Really, really good.

So, speaking of Leah and back-to-school: she started her Internal Medicine rotation today and it already appears that she has the overnight shift, right off the bat. She went in at 9AM today and probably won't be back until 9AM tomorrow, which will be after I leave for work. So, I might not see her until tomorrow night--possibly 32 hours (at the least) since the last time. Today is certainly a "preview of coming attractions" (I've been reading a horrible film theory/cinema studies book all day, apologies on the terrible allusion there) of our future life. I'm not complaining--part of the reason we have such a healthy, robust relationship is because of our respective individual interests and goals, and while neither of us are clingy, this will be a definite adjustment; but, as we know, it makes the time we do have together all the more relevant and special.

Finally, as a technical aside, I like how the stark shadow on the side of my sunny arm makes me look like a cardboard cutout. If only I really had one of those, I could put it in front of my class tomorrow.

EDIT: Just got a call from Leah--she doesn't need to stay the night!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.