'Beds'

Up bright and early to a dull day. The HG is off walking today but I am having a day to myself. Walked to the town centre first of all to do my banking and a little bit of shopping, had a coffee with a friend, then walked up to Hunter House at lunchtime as I had arranged to meet a girlfriend there for lunch.

Had a lovely longish lunch, it is a lovely place just to sit and have a chinwag, then we walked home. On the way home I saw my blip for the day......

The media, the government, doctors, health gurus, teachers...... all of them complain nowadays that children don't get enough exercise and don't play out of doors any more. The reason appears to be that television and computers take up more of their time and also that the world is such a dangerous place that parents are wary of allowing their children to be out of doors on their own.

.....Well, not in my neck of the woods. We are very fortunate in my neighbourhood, our children play out of doors in the daylight hours, and now that school is back, they are out after school......

Do you remember 'beds', 'peever', 'hopscotch'..... call it what you will....we used to play it when we were wee, along with skipping ropes, doubler balls, whips and peeries.....and lots of running and hiding games.

I passed this chalking on the pavement just along from my house, and had a bit of a smile, as I recalled my own childhood, and all the games we played. And I found several more chalkings further along. Great to see!!!

Hope your day is as good as mine!!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.