Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Shawarmas

Anyone watched the recent Avengers movie? (Not my typical movie.) Towards the end of it, the hero (Robert Downey Jr) says, "Let's have a shawarma. I don't know what one is but I'd like to try it."

Well my blip friends, this is the start of a shawarma... known elsewhere as a Donor kebab (or something) - it is usually chicken or lamb and essentially, a wrap! Walked to Yahala (in Karama of course) to meet up with Diane and have a catch up. Diane has a shorter walk to this little gem which we take all our visiting guests to at least once. When SweetArt visits in October, it may be twice in that week. She dreams of these in HK!

Despite what it looks, there is real skill in making one of these from the way the meat is cut, how much tahini/pickles are put in the Arabic bread, to the outer paper it is wrapped in. You can always tell when the chef has changed!

Cleared out my bedside table drawers and found some really special old pictures. Need to get my Flickr account working so I can show you a bit of old Dubai.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.