It's the Fringe

Saturday is not a good day to go into town, especially during the Fringe as it's mental busy, but I did! The first saw I saw was "Adam and Eve : The Musical" which was actually very funny, what happened the morning after they ate the apple? Next I nipped around the corner for "Blues & Burlesque" at the Blind Poet, to be honest I didn't expect much as the last time I was in The Blind Poet and there was a show on there was about 4 people there for the show, but they usually have good beer on, boy was I wrong, the place was packed! The show was actually a pretty good combination of Blues mixed with a couple Burlesque acts (pictured).

I also saw "CIRCA: Wunderkammer" which was at the McEwan Hall, which I'd never been in before, the show was very good; a combination of gymnastic dancing and circus style acrobatics and strength.

The last show of the day was at Summerhall and called "Ecstatic Arc", rather hard to describe, the stage is littered with scrap metal "sculptures" with LEDs and motors attached. The show is carried out in the dark and "random" electronic sounds are played with the sculptures moving and flashing in time. In the centre of the stage is a Tesla coil in a Faraday cage which throws off "lightning" in time to the sounds (or was it creating the sounds). It was clever and an interesting show but might have been improved if the sounds were a bit harmonious/musical.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.