DonnaWanna

By DonnaWanna

Flooding At The Ibis Inn

We have had a lot of rain in the last week or so, more than we've had for years it seems! Overnight last night there were some huge downpours and this morning it was lovely and clear.

Jake and I ventured out early and it was a beautiful morning. As we wandered down to the local lake I was thinking how fresh and clean everything looked!

Much to my surprise and horror the level of the lake had risen about a half metre and the whole area under all of the trees which I call the Ibis Inn was now totally underwater!! This is where they all roost and under the trees is where lots of them sun themselves during the day.

Much of the foliage has been stripped off the trees and those big dark patches in the trees are some of their nests which looked pretty waterlogged and broken! I dont know how many babies there would have been, a lot I think so its very likely most of them would have been washed away :((

Many of the adults and juveniles were hanging around these poles and along the shores drying themselves off, they all looked a bit stunned.

We've lived around here for about 16 years and I dont think I've ever seen the lake this high, mind you we've had drought conditions for most of those years so this could be us getting back to the old normal!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.