55North

By cordelia

Well done guys!

We travelled along the top edge of Scotland today and ended up at the Castle of Mey, a beautiful small castle that was bought by the Queen Mother in the 1950s and is now looked after by a board of trustees.

I've been before a few years ago and was really pleased to see that the facilities have been greatly improved. We had a lovely lunch in the cafe and I had a raspberry cheesecake that was the best I've ever had.

Being only a few miles from John O'Groats (allegedly Britain's most northerly point even though Dunnet Head is farther north and Duncansby is farther east) we thought that we'd call in just to say we'd been ... and wished we hadn't bothered ... it's still the naff tourist trap I remember!

We did however arrive just in time to see these guys complete their Lands End to John O'Groats charity cycle ride. I always imagined media coverage, champagne and crowds of cheering people at this point of such a marathon event but not for this lot. They got off their bikes, had a quick photo taken and then jumped into a waiting car. Don't blame them I guess! Well, after almost 900 miles I think the least I can do is Blip you, say well done and mention that they did this to raise funds for Motor Neurone Disease. I hope that they're enjoying a well deserved glass of something cold and a comfy bed to tonight!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.